Upgrading to iOS 6 – Stuff And Things

So, after much wailing and gnashing of teeth I decided to upgrade to iOS 6 (from 5.1.1 to 6.1.3) on my iPhone 4S. This is just some thoughts I have about it,  some issues I encountered and how I handled them.

This is a rambly post.

First off, I made several backups. That’s just who I am. Yup. I’m that guy. Four separate backups on different storage devices. I also made extra backups (by extraction with PhoneView) of my messages as I had read many reports of messages disappearing upon upgrade. This seems to have been fixed by 6.1.3 though, as all my messages seem to be left untouched.

The download and installation itself went very smoothly. I didn’t time it, but the entire process can’t have taken more than 30 minutes. So far, so good.

New App Store layout. New app: Passbook. When trying to find apps for Passbook via the application it couldn’t connect to the App Store. The fix below worked, which is just spectacular. And, of course, utterly logical.

  1. Open Settings.
  2. Open General.
  3. Open Date & Time.
  4. Switch the Set Automatically setting to Off.
  5. Open Set Date & Time.
  6. Set the date to a year ahead.
  7. Go back to the Home screen and open Passbook.
  8. Tap the App Store button. The App Store should load.
  9. Go back to Date & Time and turn on Set Automatically.

Source: http://www.macworld.com/article/2010185/fix-passbooks-app-store-error-in-ios-6.html

To avoid the whole Facebook syncing contacts issue I immediately after entering my login credentials turned that whole thing off.

Control the iOS 6 event and contact sync feature:

  1. Open your Settings in iOS
  2. Scroll down and tap Facebook
  3. Slide the On switch next to either Calendar or Contacts to Off

Source: https://www.facebook.com/help/285067151597258

Not a big fan of the YouTube app. Mainly because it doesn’t seem to be able to play in the background as the old app could. Major bummer. Jasmine, and some other players, can play in the background. But atleast for Jasmine it requires you to:

  1. Start the video.
  2. Lock the screen. (The video must be playing.)
  3. Double tap home button to show controls.
  4. Press play.

There are some other UI annoyances in the new YouTube app. Some of the functions have both good and bad sides to them, but meh.

  • You can’t play video full screen with the phone held vertically.
  • You can no longer zoom in on videos.
  • When playing video full screen in horisontal mode you can’t see the top status bar with time, battery, etc.
  • As I’m writing this, for the first time ever on my iPhone, a video that was playing simply stopped and the screen only says “Playback Error”.

Yes. I watch videos on YouTube alot.

Haven’t seen much else. It’s been about an hour since I upgraded. There are tons, and tons of articles of what to do before you upgrade, how to handle the changes and blahblah. Some information I found helpful is linked below.

Stuff to know before upgrading: http://www.nbcnews.com/technology/ios-6-now-available-heres-what-you-need-know-1B5950436

Passbook kind of useless (requires 3rd party services to be made for Passbook): http://support.apple.com/kb/HT5483?viewlocale=en_US&locale=en_US

This entry was posted in iPhone. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment